GENEVA, SWITZERLAND – The Philippine Delegation composed of officials and staff from the Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT) and National Telecommunications Commission (NTC), led by Undersecretary Alan A. Silor as Councillor to the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), participated in the 2022 ITU Council Session held on 21 to 31 March 2022.

Participation of the Philippines primarily served as the fulfillment of international cooperation commitments to the ITU. It also served as the launch of campaign activities for the country’s candidature for another four-year term at the ITU Council for 2023 to 2026.

“Your [The Philippines’] voice should be heard by the [ITU] Council,” addressed ITU Secretary-General Mr. Houlin Zhao to the Philippine delegation during the courtesy visit at his office. The delegation also made a courtesy call with Deputy Secretary-General Mr. Malcolm Johnson and visited Mr. Chaesub Lee, Director of the Telecommunication Standardization Bureau (TSB).

The delegation established contacts with counterpart ministries from other Council members present, and actively engaged other delegations for mutually beneficial endeavors and projects related to information and communications technology (ICT) in the fields of Disaster Risk Reduction Management (DRRM), Radio Regulations and Policies, and Telecommunications Standards Development, among others.

Tokens were presented to the Heads of Delegation (HoD) bearing the insignia of the DICT’s Connect – Harness – Innovate – Protect (CHIP) strategic framework for the improvement of the country’s readiness for full and inclusive participation in the digital economy. These tokens were co-produced with the Public Telecommunications Entities (PTE).

Telecommunication Development Bureau Director Ms. Doreen Bogdan-Martin expressed her appreciation on the Philippines’ campaign strategy. “The [ITU] Council will be strange without the Philippines,” she said.

Permanent Representative to the United Nations, Ambassador Evan P. Garcia also joined DICT and NTC during the Council Session, as well as during several receptions hosted by the United States of America, South Korea, and other member states.

The ITU Council is composed of 48 seats, with 13 seats for Asia and Australasia (Region E) which includes the Philippines. Elections will take place later this year, on the occasion of the Plenipotentiary (PP) Conference, ITU’s highest policy-making body, to be held in Bucharest, Romania.

Details on the Philippines’ contribution to the ITU and the country’s activities related to telecommunications sector development are available via:

The Philippine delegation meets ITU BDT Director Doreen Bogdan-Martin with the ITU Regional Director for Asia and the Pacific, Atsuko Okuda (Photo Courtesy: ITU)
The Philippine Delegation at the Reception hosted by the United States of America (USA) with Ms. Doreen Bogdan-Martin, incumbent Telecommunications Development Bureau Director (Photo Courtesy: ITU)
Philippine Delegation poses with ITU Deputy Secretary-General Malcolm Johnson after the courtesy visit and discussion on the development of ITU headquarters (Photo Courtesy: ITU)
Conversation between DICT Undersecretary Alan A. Silor, Philippine Councilor and ITU Secretary-General Houlin Zhao on topics of common interest between the Philippine Government and the ITU
The Philippine Head of Delegation, Undersecretary Alan A. Silor, PECE pays a courtesy visit to the ITU Secretary General Houlin Zhao (middle).