Nominations for Philippine entries in the MIT Technology Review’s Innovators Under 35 Competitions (TR35) is now open. This was announced by the Information and Communications Technology Office of the Department of Science and Technology.
The competition is open to all Filipinos under 35 who have developed innovative solutions in the areas of Biomedicine, Computing, Communication, Energy, Materials, Web and Transportation.

Since 1999, MIT Technology Review, the world’s oldest and most respected technology publication has identified the top young innovators under the age of 35. The group includes many of the most famous people in technology such as Facebook’s Mark Zuckerberg and Google’s Larry Page and Sergey Brin. TR35 nominees are recognized annually for their contribution in transforming the nature of technology in industries such as biotechnology, computing, energy, medicine, transportation and the web.

The competition this year for Asia-Pacific region will be held in Singapore, and will include entries the rest of Southeast Asia, Australia and New Zealand. The 10 selected TR35 Singapore finalists will be celebrated in person at the EmTech Singapore conference on January 20-21, 2014 at the Marina Bay Sands, Singapore. They automatically become candidates and potential finalists for the global TR35 list celebrated in the fall of 2014 in Boston. MIT Technology Review also showcases these global winners in the September/October issue and online at www.technologyreview.com/tr35.

Interested parties can contact Ms. Karla Legaspi of the DOST-ICT Office at +639200101 loc. 1201 or (+63)917-856-2403 or karla.legaspi@icto.dost.gov.ph or visit http://www.emtechsingapore.com/tr35-awards. Deadline for submissions is 27 September 2013.

For more information please click here.

About DOST-ICTO – The Information and Communications Technology Office of the Department of Science and Technology is the Philippine Government’s lead agency on ICT related matters. Its primary thrusts are in the ICT Industry Development, eGovernment, ICT policy development, Internet for all and Cybersecurity.