The DOST Information and Communications Technology Office (DOST-ICTO) and the Philippine Software Industry Association (PSIA) announced the top twenty qualifying teams of their annual Philippine Startup Challenge last Wednesday, October 28, 2015.

The Philippine Startup Challenge is a digital startup competition for college students from all over the country that aims to inspire them to develop innovative and socially relevant startups that could solve some of our country’s problems The theme for this years’ competition is “Create disruptive technologies, Solve real life problems.

A selection committee of industry experts, startup founders, accelerators, and government representatives determined the top twenty teams.

From the original 108 entries the competition received, the top 20 teams for this year’s Startup Challenge are:

  1. Team Navigators – MyBus Locator (Caraga State University)
  2. Team Laagan – Navigato (Mindanao State University – Iligan Institute of Technology)
  3. Team Nearby – Nearby ATM App (University of Southeastern Philippines)
  4. Teamsey Roll – e-Basura (University of Cebu – Main Campus)
  5. The Hairs – Hairview App (University of Southeastern Philippines)
  6. Team Travelista – iTravel Safe (University of Southeastern Philippines)
  7. Tripple J – Beep! (University of Southeastern Philippines)
  8. Gasifanatics – Gasify App (University of Southeastern Philippines)
  9. PackageGroup – BarcRoid Scanner (Mindanao University of Science and Technology)
  10. Seek2Park – Seek2Park (University of Southeastern Philippines)
  11. Power Puff – SoonToBeMom App (University of Southeastern Philippines)
  12. Hardwire – OUTLET (Ateneo de Davao University)
  13. iTeam – Farm2Ket (University of Cebu – Main Campus)
  14. Book Now – Book Now (Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology)
  15. Memento Team – Memento (Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology)
  16. Event-O – Event-O (Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology)
  17. Team Differentiator – Healthy NamNam (Cebu Institute of Technology – University)
  18. Team Interfacers – Interface (University of Southeastern Philippines)
  19. Bashpal – Bashpal (Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology)
  20. DCC – Mobile Fitness Instructor (University of Southeastern Philippines)

The top twenty teams are set to undergo a two-level follow-up mentoring session within the next few weeks. In level 1, members of local ICT, startup, and tech communities will further evaluate and mentor qualifying teams from their areas. In the second level, PSIA mentors will re-evaluate the top twenty and assist them in creating their Minimum Viable Product for their pitch in the National Finals.

After these mentoring sessions, the jury will select the ten finalists who qualify for the National Finals where they will have face-to-face pitching sessions with potential funders, industry experts, and ICTO officials.  The three winners in the national finals will have mentorship and internship opportunities in some of the competition’s industry partners, among other prizes.